Concert Band.jpg

Concert Band

All things related to concert band activities


Chairperson of Concert Band Affairs: Jack Yonce

Regional Concert Band Festival Chairman: Joe Brice

State Concert Band Festival Chairman: Dick Kusk

Concert Band Committee: Marti Bott, Joe Brice, Ed Cannava, Ryan Crabtree, Casey Cropp, Raleigh Eversole, Dylan Ford, Karen Gregg, Andrew Holcombe, Richard Kusk, Isaac Lavadie, Kate Margrave, Scott Schlup, Clay Stansberry, Aaron Vogelsberg, Kevin Whitelaw,

Concert Band Goal

The primary goal of the Colorado Bandmasters Association Concert Band Committee is to promote the development and improvement of the concert band as the center of the band program. The State Concert Band Festival showcases Colorado’s outstanding concert bands by allowing them to perform in a superb concert hall, while giving them the opportunity to be critiqued by some of the nation’s finest music educators. To further educational and artistic development, students at CBA Concert Band Festivals participate in clinics and serve as audience members for other groups.

High School Concert Band

Printable .PDF of the 2019 CBA State Program

CBA State 2019 Final Results

Printable Version of the CBA State 2019 Final Results Here

Congratulations to all the bands that advanced to state.  The 2019 event was truly fantastic, and all the groups represented themselves, their schools and the state of Colorado very well.  Thanks to everyone involved with the 2019 festival – with special thanks to Dick Kusk, State Concert Band Chairman; Joe and Carol Brice, Regional Concert Band Chairman; Jack Yonce, Concert Band Chairman; Casey Cropp, Announcer and the staff and students at Colorado State University – especially Dr. Rebecca Philips and T. Andre Fagan.


On behalf of all the bands that participated, thanks also to our wonderful panel of adjudicators and clinicians: Phillip Clements (Texas A&M), Mike Fansler (Western Illinois Univ), Paul Popiel (University of Kansas), Matt Roeder (University of Colorado, Boulder) and Alfred Watkins (Lassiter High School, retired and Cobb Wind Symphony).


We hope the 2019 event was a positive one for the students in your band.  Please never hesitate to send feedback to any of the CBA board on our events.  Our hope is to make each event special and a wonderful learning opportunity for all involved.


Superior with Distinction

Cherry Creek High School Wind Ensemble, Tim Libby - Director

Cheyenne Mountain Symphonic Band, Genice Matzke - Director

Coronado High School Wind Ensemble, Alan Combs - Director

Denver School of the Arts, David Hammond - Director

Fairview High School Symphonic Band, Travis Keller - Director

Fossil Ridge High School Symphonic Band, Meghan Munoz - Director

Fossil Ridge High School Wind Symphony, Meghan Munoz - Director

Legacy High School Wind Ensemble, Clay Stansberry - Director

Liberty High School Wind Ensemble, Sean Hedding - Director

Pine Creek High School Symphonic Band, Kate Margrave - Director

Rocky Mountain High School Winds, Scott Schlup - Director



Air Academy High School Wind Ensemble, Joseph Musick - Director

Bear Creek High School Wind Ensemble, Tammy Ahmed - Director

Fruita Monument High School Wind Ensemble, Ryan Crabtree - Director

Grandview High School Wind Ensemble, Keith Farmer - Director

Rampart High School Wind Ensemble, Keith Acuncius - Director



Centaurus High School Wind Ensemble, Aaron Vogelsberg - Director

Cheyenne Mountain High School Wind Ensemble, Genice Matzke - Director

The Classical Academy, Christina Schwartz Soper - Director

Dakota Ridge High School Symphonic Band, Dylan Ford - Director

Eaglecrest High School Wind Ensemble, Jason Mabrey - Director

Fort Collins High School Symphonic Band, David Miles - Director

Heritage High School Symphonic Band, Garren Cuthrell - Director

Horizon High School Wind Ensemble, Timothy Dailey - Director

Loveland High School Wind Ensemble, Kyle Freesen – Director

Mesa Ridge High School Wind Symphony, Phil Olivas – Director

Monarch High School Wind Ensemble, Charles Stephen - Director

Palmer Ridge High School Wind Symphony, Raleigh Eversole IV – Director

Rocky Mountain High School Summit Winds, Kenyon Scheurman - Director

Windsor High School Wind Symphony, Jennifer Grice - Director



Arvada High School Wind Ensemble, Craig Melhorn – Director

Poudre High School Wind Ensemble, Corry Petersen - Director


Music can change the world because it can change people.
— Bono

Middle School Concert Band

CBA Middle School Festival